Record · Compliance reports
Lima Consent Decree (CD), Case 3:14-CV-02551-JZ
edoc-2710558.progress-report
Fields
agency
U.S. EPA Region 5 / Ohio EPA / U.S. DOJ
instrument
Lima Consent Decree (CD), Case 3:14-CV-02551-JZ
case_no
3:14-CV-02551-JZ
paragraph
33
respondent
City of Lima, Ohio
facility
City of Lima Wastewater Treatment Plant (WWTP), Lima, Ohio
permit_no
—
report_date
2018-01-25
period_start
2017-07-01
period_end
2017-12-31
deadlines_status
None noted.
noncompliance_reasons
None noted for deadlines. A direct lightning strike to the main electrical switch gear equipment on July 22, 2017 caused complete loss of power, resulting in substantial flooding throughout the plant and significant equipment loss, which is documented in the discharge/contacts sections.
summary
This is the semiannual Consent Decree Progress Report for the City of Lima, Ohio covering the period July 1, 2017 through December 31, 2017, filed January 25, 2018 under Case 3:14-CV-02551-JZ. No consent decree deadlines were missed during the period; however, a lightning strike on July 22, 2017 caused a complete power loss at the WWTP, resulting in four NPDES permit exceedances, one SSO requiring a 5-day follow-up report, and substantial plant damage. The attached overflow totals report documents 142 SSO events and 28 CSO events across 38+ locations during the reporting period, with five named capital/compliance projects in various stages of progress.
note
Attachment: SSO & CSO Overflow Totals July 1 – December 31, 2017. Total SSO overflow count = 142; total CSO overflow count = 28. Total number of reports = 18. Report updated 1/5/2018. Signed by Michel N. Carea, Director of Utilities, City of Lima, Ohio. CMOM section reports 57,662 linear feet (10.92 miles, 11% of SSS) of sewer cleaned; 32,992 linear feet CCTV (6.25 miles, 6% of SSS), 348 manholes inspected; 12 manholes rehabilitated; 2 new manholes installed. 1 SSO required a 5-Day Follow-up Report to OEPA in reporting period. case_no normalized for the join: printed as "3:14-CV-02551-JZ Doc #5 Filed: 01/13/15", where the trailing text is one FILING inside the case rather than the case. The field holds the case number alone so this row joins edoc-412983.order.yaml.
projects
- name Lima Wastewater Treatment Headworks Project
- status Commenced construction on July 1, 2015. Building and tank construction is complete.
- next_period Develop implementation strategy for seeding nitrification towers during dry weather to develop biomass suitable for wet weather treatment; develop implementation strategy for employing primary tank 5-7, effluent pumping, and towers to treat wet weather flows; develop PLC programming for seeding the nitrification tower and for control of wet weather treatment system; implement dry weather seeding strategy for towers and collect data.
- name CMOM Plan Development
- status Lima submitted the revised plan to USEPA on 5/26/17. Currently awaiting final approval.
- next_period —
- name Asset Management
- status Final design and contract documents were completed for the Phase 1 High Street/Jameson Ave Sewer Rehabilitation Project. A PTI application was submitted to OEPA on October 18, 2017.
- next_period Bidding and award of this project followed by commencement of construction.
- name Supplemental Environmental Project (SEP)
- status Project is complete. USEPA requests Lima to submit a Revised SEP Completion Report by January 31, 2018.
- next_period Submit Revised SEP Completion Report by January 31, 2018.
- name Simmon's Field CSO EQ Basin
- status City is under contract with Stantec for engineering. A PTI application was submitted to OEPA on October 16, 2017. Project was bid on November 11-22, 2017. Bids were opened on December 15, 2017. Lima received four bids, which are currently under review.
- next_period Bid award and commencement of construction.
agency_contacts
- July 18, 2017 --- Lima submitted a response letter to OEPA concerning the 'AD' values submitted on the June DMR for overflow volumes at Stations 002 and 003.
- July 25, 2017 --- OEPA conducted an inspection at Lima's WWTP to evaluate the facility following a lightning strike and subsequent power outage that occurred on July 22, 2017.
- July 26, 2017 --- Lima submitted a SSO 5-Day Follow-up Report to OEPA concerning the loss of power at the WWTP due to the lightning strike on July 22, 2017.
- July 31, 2017 --- Lima submitted a letter to USEPA concerning the loss of power at the WWTP due to the lightning strike on July 22, 2017.
- August 16, 2017 --- Lima received a report from OEPA relative to the inspection of the WWTP on July 25, 2017.
- August 7, 2017 --- Lima submitted a force majeure event letter to USEPA concerning the loss of power at the WWTP due to the lightning strike on July 22, 2017.
- August 28, 2017 --- Lima submitted a letter to OEPA concerning the codes reported on the July DMR for water temperature, dissolved oxygen, overflow volume and E. coli.
- November 29, 2017 --- Lima received a letter from USEPA concerning the 3-day Consent Decree Monitoring Inspection conducted on June 19-20-21, 2017.
- December 5, 2017 --- OEPA conducted a NPDES compliance evaluation inspection at Lima's WWTP.
- December 29, 2017 --- Lima received a letter from OEPA detailing the results of the NPDES compliance inspection conducted on December 5, 2017.
permit_exceedances
- July 7, 2017 --- Lima recorded 'AD' values for overflow volume at Stations 002 and 003. The sensors were in the process of being replaced and reprogrammed.
- July 10, 2017 --- Lima recorded 'AD' values for overflow volume at Stations 004, 005 and 006. The sensors were in the process of being replaced and reprogrammed.
- July 21, 2017 --- Lima recorded 'AB' values for water temperature and dissolved oxygen. This was directly related to the loss of power due to a lightning strike at the WWTP.
- July 24, 2017 --- Lima recorded an 'AB' value for dissolved oxygen and an 'AK' value for E. coli. This was directly related to the loss of power due to a lightning strike at the WWTP.
discharge_events
- kind WIB (Water-in-Basement)
- location Two homes (sanitary mainlines surcharged)
- date —
- frequency 2 instances
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Both occurred during a rain event of nearly 3.5"; sanitary mainlines became surcharged and backed up into two homes. Lima completed 3 WIB projects in this reporting period.
- kind SSO
- location MH#19 on Lost Creek Golf Course (Plugged)
- date —
- frequency —
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #301, EPA ID# 2PE00000048; SSO overflow count not specified in attachment
- kind SSO
- location MH#14 on Lost Creek Golf Course
- date —
- frequency 6
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #302, EPA ID# 2PE00000047
- kind CSO
- location S. Central Ave. & Ottawa River
- date —
- frequency 4
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #007, EPA ID# 2PE00000007
- kind CSO
- location Timberlake Sewer & Ottawa River
- date —
- frequency 3
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #008, EPA ID# 2PE00000008
- kind CSO
- location Oxford Ave. & Collett Street
- date —
- frequency 2
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #009, EPA ID# 2PE00000009
- kind CSO
- location North Shore Dr. & Cole St.
- date —
- frequency 2
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #037, EPA ID# 2PE00000037
- kind CSO
- location Charles St. & State St. (Plugged w/ concrete)
- date —
- frequency 0
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #036, EPA ID# 2PE00000036
- kind CSO
- location Lakewood Ave & Charles St.
- date —
- frequency 6
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #035, EPA ID# 2PE00000035
- kind CSO
- location Judkins Ave at Kunneke Ave
- date —
- frequency 1
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #034, EPA ID# 2PE00000034
- kind CSO
- location Nixon Ave. at Kunneke Ave.
- date —
- frequency 3
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #033, EPA ID# 2PE00000033
- kind CSO
- location West & O'Connor Ave
- date —
- frequency 2
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #038, EPA ID# 2PE00000038
- kind SSO
- location Glenwood Ave. between Lakewood and Wales Ave.
- date —
- frequency 6
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #303, EPA ID# 2PE00000029
- kind SSO
- location S. Pears Ave. at Kunneke Ave.
- date —
- frequency 0
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #304, EPA ID# 2PE00000028
- kind SSO
- location Lakewood Ave. & Maplewood Drive
- date —
- frequency 4
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #305, EPA ID# 2PE00000027
- kind SSO
- location S. Pears Ave. between Wendell Ave & Lakewood Ave.
- date —
- frequency 5
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #306, EPA ID# 2PE00000026
- kind SSO
- location 418 South Pears (MH 0-10)
- date —
- frequency 2
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #307, no EPA ID#
- kind SSO
- location S. Pears Ave. between Lowell Ave. & Wendell Ave.
- date —
- frequency 4
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #308, EPA ID# 2PE00000025
- kind SSO
- location S. Pears Ave. between W. Spring & W. Elm St
- date —
- frequency 6
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #309, EPA ID# 2PE00000023
- kind SSO
- location Between W. Spring & W. Elm, East of Primrose Pl
- date —
- frequency 5
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #310, EPA ID# 2PE00000024
- kind SSO
- location 1861 Wendell
- date —
- frequency 0
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #311, no EPA ID#
- kind SSO
- location Wales Ave. at Primrose Place
- date —
- frequency —
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #312, EPA ID# 2PE00000030; overflow count not specified
- kind SSO
- location S. Cable Rd. at Lakewood Ave.
- date —
- frequency 8
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #313, EPA ID# 2PE00000031
- kind SSO
- location S. Cable Rd. at Wendell Ave.
- date —
- frequency 7
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #314, EPA ID# 2PE00000032
- kind SSO
- location 2600 Koop Road Lift Station
- date —
- frequency —
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #315, EPA ID# 2PE00000052; overflow count not specified
- kind SSO
- location Dale Dr. & Idlewild Dr.
- date —
- frequency 7
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #316, EPA ID# 2PE00000022
- kind SSO
- location Dale Dr. between W. Wayne & Oakland Pkwy
- date —
- frequency 6
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #317, EPA ID# 2PE00000020
- kind SSO
- location Dale Dr. & West Wayne St.
- date —
- frequency 5
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #318, EPA ID# 2PE00000021
- kind SSO
- location University Ave. & Dale Dr.
- date —
- frequency 6
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #319, EPA ID# 2PE00000018
- kind SSO
- location Columbia @ Allentown, MH #92
- date —
- frequency 5
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #320, no EPA ID#
- kind SSO
- location 1379 N. Cable Road Lift Station (Check Valve)
- date —
- frequency 0
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #321, EPA ID# 2PE00000051
- kind SSO
- location 1700 Allentown Road Lift Station (Check Valve)
- date —
- frequency 7
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #322, EPA ID# 2PE00000050
- kind SSO
- location Rosedale @ Ellison Ave.
- date —
- frequency 4
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #323, no EPA ID#
- kind SSO
- location Woodlawn @ Ellison Ave.
- date —
- frequency 5
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #324, no EPA ID#
- kind SSO
- location Woodlawn Ave. & Feeman Ave.
- date —
- frequency 4
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #325, EPA ID# 2PE00000017
- kind CSO
- location Metcalf St. & Tremont Ave.
- date —
- frequency 1
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #014, EPA ID# 2PE00000014
- kind CSO
- location Metcalf St. & Ashton Ave.
- date —
- frequency 1
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #016, EPA ID# 2PE00000016
- kind CSO
- location Metcalf St. & Runyan Ave.
- date —
- frequency 0
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #015, EPA ID# 2PE00000075
- kind CSO
- location Mcdonel St. & O'Connor Ave.
- date —
- frequency 0
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #012, EPA ID# 2PE00000012
- kind CSO
- location Burch Ave. & O'Connor Ave.
- date —
- frequency 1
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #011, EPA ID# 2PE00000019
- kind CSO
- location Metcalf St. & O'Connor Ave.
- date —
- frequency 2
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #013, EPA ID# 2PE00000013
- kind SSO
- location Northwold St. & O'Connor Ave.
- date —
- frequency 1
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #326, EPA ID# 2PE00000010
- kind SSO
- location 1330 Melrose Ave.
- date —
- frequency 3
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #327, EPA ID# 2PE00000049
- kind SSO
- location 1327 Northwold
- date —
- frequency —
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #328, no EPA ID#; overflow count not specified
- kind SSO
- location Metcalf St. & Lane Ave.
- date —
- frequency 3
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #329, EPA ID# 2PE00000042
- kind SSO
- location Metcalf St. & Ford Ave.
- date —
- frequency 3
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #330, EPA ID# 2PE00000044
- kind SSO
- location Burch & Ford
- date —
- frequency 3
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #331, no EPA ID#
- kind SSO
- location 2032 Burch Ave.
- date —
- frequency 2
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #332, EPA ID# 2PE00000046
- kind SSO
- location Burch Ave. & Lewis Ave.
- date —
- frequency 4
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #333, EPA ID# 2PE00000045
- kind SSO
- location Metcalf St. & Lewis Blvd.
- date —
- frequency 4
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #334, EPA ID# 2PE00000043
- kind SSO
- location Cella Place & Northern Ave.
- date —
- frequency 4
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #335, EPA ID# 2PE00000041
- kind SSO
- location Karen St. & Lewis Blvd. (N)
- date —
- frequency 5
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #336, EPA ID# 2PE00000039
- kind SSO
- location Karen St. & Lane Ave
- date —
- frequency 6
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #337, EPA ID# 2PE00000038
- kind SSO
- location West St. Lift Station
- date —
- frequency 2
- duration —
- volume —
- estimated —
- note Annual Report #338, EPA ID# 2PE00000056
⚠ Gaps in the record
- Clause (c) references 'July 22, 2018' for the lightning strike but context and all other references confirm this should be July 22, 2017 — likely a typo in the original document.
- Overflow frequency counts in the attachment are event counts per location for the period, not individual dated events; duration and volume are not provided per location in the attachment.
- Some Annual Report entries in the attachment have no EPA ID# (marked with asterisks in original); these are noted in discharge event records.
- OCR layer is unreliable; all figures verified against image scan.
Where it connects
oepa/lima/edoc-2710558.progress-report.yaml · p.1 · oepa